Morning In Bed-(fordshire)

Yesterdays ride wasn’t the quick easy ride I expected really when I set off on an off the cuff ride, on which I would try to get as close to 50km (30 miles) as I could, making it up as I went along.  So I headed off into Bedfordshire..

I had hardly started when I came off my bike.  I was putting on some pressure on an uphill bend and my shoe came unclipped from the cleat and I can’t tell in what order everything happened next except to say that I found myself on the ground, the other foot still firmly clipped to the pedal.  I got myself untangled and up and checked the bike over, all seemed well.  There were no tears in my tights or top.  So I looked OK but my knee and elbow were feeling a bit sore.

Pressing on round my ride I was just over half way through the desired distance when I came upon a ‘ROAD CLOSED – FLOODS’ sign between Milton Ernest and Radwell.  As usual I assumed this didn’t apply to me so I carried on.  I knew the road and that there was a raised causeway beside the road ahead.  Sure enough the road was flooded but the causeway was fine.

This was the view I had…

20140303-IMG_1088

The causeway you see ahead of me doesn’t really look it in these pictures but its about one metre above the road level.  After taking the photos I started riding along it and then the next catastrophe almost happened.  I was keeping a good line along centre of the path when, unnoticed by me the long join in the centre that I was more or less following suddenly got wider at the same time as I was looking away from it.  My front wheel was momentarily stuck in the join between the two blocks, I was still moving forward but the sudden sticking of the front wheel in a straight line caused me to wobble as I over compensated on the steering to free it.  I found myself veering dangerously close the drop down into the water at the deepest point.  I managed to recover from it safely before going over the edge but I bet there is big jump in my heart rate at that point !

Pressing in with my ride I carried on through Radwell and then Felmersham up the hill and down into Pavenham.  The next village was Oakley and I was half expecting a bit of flooding there too but although the river was high the road was OK.

On the way to Stevington I have often seem this windmill in the distance on my left…

20140303-IMG_1093

But I have never investigated it further but in line with new policy of taking in the scenery and photo opportunities I took a turn up a small lane and found my way to it.

20140303-IMG_1094

20140303-IMG_1095

You can click on the image for the larger picture and you might just be able to read the info there

Its not a working mill anymore, just preserved as of historical interest.

I carried on with my ride and the skies were looking ominous, rain wasn’t far away.  I was pressing on to try and beat it home but just outside Turvey I hit a pot hole in the road and suffered a ‘pinch puncture’ to my front tyre.  I fixed it as fast as I could then took a short cut home from Turvey but I didn’t quite make it home in the dry, for about the last mile I got a good soaking.  But for the puncture I could have completed the circuit and still made it home in the dry.   I did however make the desired 50km’s despite the shortcut.

When I got home I checked my injuries from the earlier fall and found I had a major road rash on my knee and on my elbow, I thought I was feeling sore, now I knew why.  I don’t really know how my clothing survived unscathed.

Garmin ride details HERE

2 thoughts on “Morning In Bed-(fordshire)

Comments are closed.