Tags

, , ,

DSC00047

I have had a week of frustration for not getting out on the bike, although I wasnt altogether unhappy about that as I still wasnt feeling too good.  I just felt that I needed to get out again before whatever fitness I had achieved started to drop off.  That happens quite quickly when you are ‘getting on a bit’.

Both Tuesday and Wednesday I had hoped to get out but circumstances contrived to prevent me plus as I said earlier I wasnt feeling to enthusiastic about it so secretly I wasnt that bothered. Thursday was always forecast to be the best day this week.

Anyway, today dawned bright and sunny just as it was forecast to be.  I went for a nice ride around the north Bedfordshire countryside.  From Olney to Harrold and Sharnbrook and on up to Souldrop.  From there I headed to Melchbourne and Riseley and didnt even find the usual headwind that I normally get on this ride once I start to head for home.  It was then on to Milton Ernest, Radwell and Felmersham and then the run in to home through Carlton and Turvey.  A total of 36 miles at an average of 15.5mph.

After lunch it was an afternoon of relaxation, reading and recovery.  It pretty soon starts to get cold at this time of year in the late afternoon so not much to tempt me outside.

