Tags

, , , ,

Lovely ride out this morning into Bedfordshire, a variation on previous routes but the same area.  39.5 miles and I must finally be getting fitter.  Was not a pressure ride, out to enjoy the weather and countryside but still averaged 16.2 mph including stops for photo opportunities.  Not bad for a 67 year old I think?

Bolnhurst Church and Rape Seed Fields

Keysoe

Carlton, view from the 'cockpit' !!

On the way back on the way to Newton Blossomville from Turvey I was joined by racer in Phil Corley Cycles garb who slowed down for a brief chat.  I said where I had been and enquired what was his mission and he said he was doing interval training so I said he should crack on asta 67 my intervals were few and far between.  However I kept him pretty much in sight until just after Clifton Reynes where he turned and retraced his steps (pedals?).  Can only assume he was on one the recovery intervals.

Another two rides yet before we leave for France, hope the weather stays as good.   This time next week should be camping by the side of the lake at Annecy and all being well, having done the 40km circuit of the lake in the afternoon.  I am just 77 miles short of the target of 1700 miles since the start of year up until May 3rd.  Another 2 rides should see that target reached and passed.

