Tags

, , , , ,

Woke to sunshine and the sound of a PA from the cycle event just up the road.  It was a Randonnee, an organised bike ride over a choice of distances, in this case 75, 100 0r 166 km.  We walked up to take a look at the start/finish area.  A well organised event at the local sports complex.

Next it was off to the supermarket for some supplies and then a stroll back for lunch. After lunch we wandered up to the event again to see some of the finishers.

I then decided to go for a bike ride over part of the 75km course, or as much as I could Deduce from the low scale French road atlas.  It turned out to be 12 miles of climbing up an average gradient of 8 – 10%.  On reaching the top there is a few miles of up and down across a plateau and then the 15 mile descent and along the Lot valley back to St Geniez.  I couldn’t enjoy it much though as most of the ride across the top and the descent was against a strong wind and in cold rain so some of the bends were a bit tricky with cold wet hands on the brakes and rain on my glasses.

After I got back I couldn’t get warm so we got in the car and took a drive around where I had just ridden, with the heater on!  It was very nice and I soon got warm.  It was just over 30 miles round the circuit

Brazil just scored on TV, taking a break to watch the replays with French commentary.  It seems strange to hear Arsene Wenger talking French.  He is co-commentating.

It says its the top but there is at least another kilometre of climbing yet!

View south from the plateau
