Tags

, , ,

Got an early start this morning, well it was before 9am!   I had sorted out a route all around the perimeter of Milton Keynes. Just a shade over 50 miles.  I prepared the route on the Map My Ride website and download the route to my bike computer.

It was good to ride on a few different roads for a change. The start and finish were familiar but the rest was very interesting as it all unfolded in front of me.

As I suspected it turned out to be quite a hilly route which was just what I needed really in preparation for the Sportive in the Chiltern Hills in just under 2 weeks.  I struggled at first to get the average speed to the required level for the sportive, it needs to be around 15.25mph to achieve the level I am aiming for.  The start was quite hilly and against the wind so it was about 20 miles before I actually broke the 15mph average barrier and there were still plenty more hills to come but the wind was more in my favour as I swung around the bottom of the loop.   Having the crested the hills around the Brickhills, Little and Great, south of Bletchley, the average was up to 15.6mph.

After that it was pretty level all the way home, no major climbs and I finished   15.8mph average. Full details of the ride can be found here at Garmin Connect where I download all the information from my bike computer.

When I do the sportive there will be the benefit of riding within a group and the shelter from the wind.  That’s providing that I dont get dropped though.  That’s quite possible but hopefully there will be the opportunity to drop back to a slower group.  However I am going to ride within myself for at least the first 60% and then see what I have left as I understand there are some pretty big climbs involved.  Just under another 2 weeks of riding before then to pile in the miles.

