Tags

, ,

I took advantage of a break in the rainy weather and had a ride to St Neots and back this morning.   Oh the joys of retirement and the freedom.  I took the Specialized bike as it has mudguards and I wasnt so sure I would be rain free all the way. I returned by a different route from about half way back, just after Thurleigh via Felmersham and Carlton.

St Neots market square

St Neots Market Square

It stayed dry for the whole trip but a head wind on the way out through Sharnbrook and Thurleigh.  I found a seat in the river side  park to take in some food and drink and was entertained by a couple of young lads who spent the entire time untangling their fishing lines.  Mind you I doubt they would have had much success fishing anyway as the river was so high and fast after the rains.  The river was almost up over the banks and the grass on the edges was waterlogged as can be seen in the picture.

St Neots, River Ouse Bridge

A liesurely ride at a steady pace, 14.8mph overall average including stop and a 16mph moving average.

