Tags

, , ,

Click image for full details

Persuaded my buddy Cyril he needed to do 51 miles on the bike this morning and not the 35 he requested and we rode a wide loop around the perimeter of Milton Keynes today.  A nice rural ride considering the proximity of the city centre.  On the way back we managed to take in a couple of the hills I missed out on my Brickhills ride the other day.

I am beginning to feel much better on the hills now.  It must be all the miles I am getting into my legs.  There was a time a few weeks back that I would have gone out of my way to avoid them but now I don’t mind at all.  I just hope I can keep up the routine as at my age you don’t need long off the bike before all the fitness you have gained is gone.  As I found out last January/February time when I was starting to prepare for the Alpe d’Huez ride.

I am going to try for some longer rides now in the 70 mile plus range and hopefully before the year is out will have managed a 100 miles in one day. I am managing the 60+ mile rides pretty easily now so hopefully it can be  done this year.

I got all the details for the Phil Cooke Challenge Ride in the post on Friday so that’s the next objective, on October 3rd.  It is in aid of the Marie Curie Cancer Care charity and I am trying to raise some money via my ‘Just Giving’ charity collection page.  Should anybody feel like contributing you just need to click the link on the right hand column here.  Thanks in advance for any contributions made.

