Tags

, , , , , ,

After the Devon trip it was back to routine so far as cycling is concerned.  Getting rides in when I could, at least 3 times a week and making the most of the last of the good weather for this year.  There has been a definite falling off in the last couple of weeks.

I was concentrating on getting plenty of miles in my legs in preparation for Phil Cooke Challenge Ride on October 3rd and the Brickhills Challenge on October 10th.  I have done three 100km rides in the last couple of weeks to prepare for the distance and some local hilly routes to prepare for the climbing aspects.  I now have to combine the two.

The Phil Cooke ride is a 100km circuit starting from Dunchurch in Warwickshire and then a loop down to Towcester, (almost back home again for me!!) and back up to Dunchurch again.  As I write this the ride is only 2 days away and the weather forecast is really grim.  A heavy band of rain is due to pass over the area all day.  I have to go through with the ride though, no pulling out, as I have some sponsors who have donated in aid of the Marie Curie Cancer Care Charity.  Phil was a top local racing cyclist who died at a very early age of cancer and this event is run every year in his memory and to raise money for the charity.  I have attempted to do my bit by seeking sponsorship via my ‘Just Giving’ page.  Not over succesful but every little bit helps.

The Brickhills Challenge ride is a bit more local. Comprising of a 52 mile route around and about the Brickhills hills near to Milton Keynes. The route circulates around and doubles back to take in all the climbs in that area and a total climbing height of over 4000 feet !  Starting at the Open University and based around Aspley Guise, Little Brickhill, Great Brickhill, Drayton Parslow, Woburn Golf Course, Stoke Hammond, Woburn and Woburn Sands.  So plenty of places to see riders coming past and suffering a few times.  This ride is in aid of Willen Hospice and should have been held in February this year but had to be called off because of heavy snow.

My September riding target of 1000km was just missed by about 100km.  The reason for that being the eights days spent in Devon and the lack of miles ridden.  However I exceeded my August target by more than the shortfall in September so I am still in credit. I am aiming for 1000km again in October but this time of year the weather is a problem to consistent riding but I will see how realistic a target it is.

I have just joined the ‘League of Veteran Racing Cyclists’ as I hope to be trying my hand at racing again next year and so will be preparing with that in mind through the winter.  Apart from around 10 years cross country mountain bike racing all over the country in my 50’s its been about 45 years since I did any racing so it should be an interesting experience.  I like the idea of road racing again.  I will be racing against riders of a similar age to me as races are graded by age groups within a race.

I am also in the process of joining Team MK cycle club to expand my riding experience as it gets a bit boring riding alone all the time so I will be able to join in club runs and local time trials and the evening circuit races at the Milton Keynes Bowl if they are still running next year, hopefully so?

Well that’s me pretty much up to date I think.  I just need to keep abreast of events now and blog them here as and when they happen.

