Tags

,

Here are some pictures of my stable of bikes :-

Felt F3

Felt F3

My best bike, a dream to ride. I just hope I can do it justice.  I bought the frame and then built up the bike myself.  Originally it had a lot of  the equipment from the Specialized bike but I gradually upgraded it to be 100% Shimano Ultegra equipped.  It has a Shimano Ultegra ‘Compact’ Chainset, rings of 34 & 50 teeth.  It gives a decent low gear for climbing work without having to fit a triple chainring.  My days of pushing 54 x 13 gears are long gone!  It doesn’t get much use in the winter.  However this is my bike of choice on any suitable occasion, summer or winter.

Specialized Allez

Specilaised Allez

I bought this bike secondhand and upgraded some parts.  The original chainset was a double and I changed that to a Campagnolo Record Triple Ring and the front changer to a Shimano 105 Triple. It now has Shimano Sora STi Levers and Shimano 105 Gears and brakes.  I have recently fitted a classic Brooks B17 saddle on it from the Claud Butler bike.  It did have nice yellow Selle Italia saddle on it.  That may go back on at sometime, it does look smart with the yellow stripe tyres and yellow saddle.  I have also fitted some very slim race guards from ‘Crud’ they make riding in the rain a little more comfortable and saves the muddy strip up the back of my jacket. They are very neat and very unobtrusive and easy to take on and off.  Its main uses are for winter riding or if the weather isnt too good.   I also use it on my Turbo Trainer.  With the Brooks saddle on I could also fit a saddlebag for long day trips.

Kona Kula

Kona Kula

This is my mountain bike.  When I was cross countrty mountain bike racing some years ago this is the bike I used.  It is very light and responsive.  It has an aluminium frame and hydraulic front suspension forks.  I have done many cross country miles on this and some leg aching mountain climbs and nerve jangling descents.

Claud Butler Cotswold

Claud Butler Cotswold

When I bought this bike secondhand a couple of years ago it had straight handlebars on it.  Apart from the bars I havent changed much equipment. It now has Shimano Sora front and rear derailliers.  It doesnt get much use now as I have the Specialized for winter riding.  Its quite a heavy item but should I ever choose to go for an extended touring trip this would be the one, even with camping gear as well.  When I bought this bike I had riding from Lands End to John O’Groats in mind, which is also known as the ‘End to End’ ride.  From the very lowes point in the England at Lands End in Cornwall to the the very Northerly tip of Scotland.  A journey of some 900 – 1000 miles, and two to three weeks.  It has the pannier racks and i have the panniers and saddlebag.

So I think I now have most cycling options covered.   Hopefully it will just be tyres and tubes and other maintenance parts that I need to buy, but I wouldnt bet on it..  things are bound to catch my eye from time to time..

