Tags

, , , ,

I took myself off on another ride this morning.  Quite a cold morning, temperature around 14C (57F).  It took a while to get warmed up but as the route is quite soon into some climbs not too long.

 

Click Image for Ride Details

 

I rode out via Ravenstone and Stoke Goldington to Salcey Forest.   Then on through Hartwell and Ashton to Stoke Bruerne on the Grand Union Canal.  There is a canal museum there and it is also at the southern entrance to Blisworth Tunnel. A long tunnel through the hill between Stoke Bruerne and Blisworth excavated by hand when the canals where first built.  It was started in 1793 and is 3076 yards long, quite a dig!

I then headed further west and past the back of Towcester Racecourse and across the old Roman Road of Watling Street, now the A5.  The road starts at Marble Arch in the centre of London and goes all the way to Holyhead in Anglesey, North Wales.  A total distance of 267 miles. In 1951 they started running a one day cycle race along the entire length of the road, it used to start around 5am!  I remember getting up to watch it go through St Albans, near to where I was raised in Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire.  The race was last run in 1960 so you can guess how young I might have been.

On crossing the A5 I carried on west for a while and then turned south towards Pury End and then down and up the hill into Paulerspury.  Here I decided to explore a new route and turned off towards Deanshanger and then  left off of that road and to Potterspury.  Crossing the A5 again here I went through the village to Yardley Gobion and then down to Castlethorpe, having re-crossed the Grand Union Canal again at the Navigation Inn just before the village.

 

Tyringham Hall and Park

Tyringham Hall & Park

 

Then it was the final run through to Haversham, Gayhurst and Tyringham and then to Filgrave and up the hill and drop down into Olney.

It was a ride of 38 miles and surpisingly I didnt average as much as longer and hillier ride I did on Sunday.  But I guess I was in a more leisurely frame of mind and also riding solo all the way made a difference, especially given the headwind at some stages and not being able to shelter in a bunch of riders.

