Tags

, , , ,

My targets next year consist of training towards riding road races, time trials and hopefully my French odyssey in June will take me within reach of Mont Ventoux and I will attempt a ride up the 22km of the awesome and notorious Tour de France mountain to add to my ‘scalp’ of Alpe d’Huez last May.

View of Mont Ventoux from Mirabel-aux-Baronnies

View of Mont Ventoux from Mirabel-aux-Baronnies

Summit of Mont Ventoux

Summit of Mont Ventoux

On the climb, very near to the lunar landscape that is the summit of the mountain there is a memorial to the British cyclist Tommy Simpson who died while climbing the mountain in the Tour de France way back in 1967.  He was starting his professional career at about the same time as I was starting out in racing as a teenager so he was a kind of hero of mine and it would be good to be able pay my respects at his memorial.  I did actually get to see him race in England once, at the old Herne Hill outdoor cycle track in south London.

Mt. Ventoux Simpson Gedenkstein

Tommy Simpsons memorial, Mont Ventoux

I don’t have any specific races or time trials in mind yet as the race calendars are not out yet.  I havent dont any proper cycling for about 3 weeks now so I guess I will be starting from scratch again so far as fitness is concerned.  I hope to be back out on the bike again in earnest in about 3 days time, once all the Christmas activities are completed with a view to working towards being pretty much race fit by the beginning of April.  That will give me a couple of months racing before going to France for pretty much all of June and resume activities again at the beginning of July.

Such are my hopes and dreams, I hope they can all become a reality and another ambition fulfilled, a few more boxes ticked !

