Tags

,

My mini break is now over.  I was away from Tuesday until today and I didn’t take my bike with me as the weather forecast was for plenty of rain and also I didn’t think there would be much of a riding opportunity regardless of the weather.

Tomorrow I will go on the Team MK training ride and spend the rest of the week in final preparation for my first road race for many many years next Sunday.  I found the race details and start sheet were waiting for me on my return.  In hindsight I probably should have entered an easier event for my comeback as this is one of a series of season long races towards an area championship and it’s not in my area but has obviously attracted a lot of riders.  Well I guess it was never going to be easy anyway.  A baptism of fire.

The race starts at 9:30 a.m. it transpires whereas on the calendar it said it was a 1:30p.m. start.  As it’s almost a 2 hour drive I probably need to leave home around 6:30/6:45 a.m. to allow getting ready and warm up time.  It is 4 laps of a 10 mile circuit and from what I can see from the profile it only has one real climb but it looks just over a mile long and of course, the finish will be at the top of the climb on the last lap.

