Tags

, , , ,

Rightly or wrongly, I decided I would go out on the club ride on Wednesday morning, the day after the MK Bowl circuit race.   I felt I would cope with it OK and it would improve my fitness which still has a long way to go it seems.  My theory was that I would give it a go and if I dropped off I could find my own way back and that would be that.

It was quite a tough ride.  Once again the assembled cyclists at Stony Stratford for the start of the ride were a mixed bunch and I opted for the fast group again.  I did OK on the ride and we managed a creditable almost 19mph overall average over some quite lumpy terrain.  The coffee stop was at a cafe just outside Carlton in Bedfordshire.  As always, after the restart the riding gets harder as some guys feel they have some spare fitness to use up.  By this stage I was feeling the effects of my previous nights ride so I was just sitting at or near the back of the group instead of taking my turn at front as I had been on the outward ride.

As we got nearer to Stony Stratford various riders began to drop out of the group and head for their homes at various points.  I had to go back to Stony to collect my car.  had I know the route, which we never do on a Wednesday I would have ridden to the start and then I could have dropped off early as we passed near Olney both on the way out and the way back.  Me and my legs survived to tell the tale and live to ride another another day.  I figured that it can only do me good.

