Tags

, , , ,

Click image for more detail

After yesterdays 47 mile ride I went out on the Team MK  ‘C’ Group club training ride today and it was tough after yesterdays efforts albeit yesterday wasn’t really a hard ride.

I was going to go on the ‘B’ group ride which is supposedly slightly faster but opted for the ‘C’ group again as after my 12 mile ride over to the meeting place I was still feeling the ache in my legs from yesterday.

Little did I know that the ride was going to be led by one of the ‘B’ group riders and he does like to push on despite the fact the average speed supposed a bit lower.   So what happens, he leads a fast pace on the front and then realises he is leaving people behind so slows down again until everyone is caught up and off he goes again.  It makes for a concertina or elastic band effect all the time, a bit like interval training I guess which ironically is what I need to be doing so I shouldnt be complaining !

We stopped for break after around 36, miles including my 12 to get to the start at Canons Ashby, a National Trust property in Northamptonshire.

Canons Ashby.

Canons Ashby House & Garden

Break, a welcome cup of coffee and a large slice of home made cake we were off again and headed back.  Myself and another guy didn’t want to ride all the way to the start again as he was going to Northampton and me to Olney so we broke off about halfway back in Whittlebury.

We had a pleasant ride together with the assistance of a tailwind until we too went our separate ways in Hartwell.  I was just about done in by the time I got home.  It was only about 100 miles over the two days but today was a tough ride.  However I am sure it has done me good and I hope to feel the benefit of it sometime soon !!

