Tags

, ,

Click For More Detail

It dawned a perfect cycling day.  Sunshine, little wind and a desire to ride.   I decided to go to one of clubs tea stops,  the cafe at The Old Dairy Farm Country Shopping and Craft Centre at Upper Stowe In Northamptonshire.  Its one of the harder rides we do and I planned my ride from Olney to intercept the clubs route at Whittlebury, near to Silverstone and the Formula One Grand Prix circuit.  I didnt see anything of the circuit but Silverstone village is a really nice little old village, far removed from the Formula One atmosphere.

Its a very undulating ride at the best of times but today riding into a north-east wind it seemed more hilly than undulating.  I was riding the Specialized today and it seemed quite hard going after riding the Felt quite a bit lately.   I even stopped within about a mile of starting as it felt like the brakes were rubbing, but they were not 😦 just my legs not up to it.  I didn’t ride the Felt because it’s now all clean and set up for its French trip next week.

The ride out finishes with a 12% climb about a mile before the cafe which makes it a very welcome stop for refuelling.  On arrival I found another cyclist sitting outside in the sunshine so I said ‘Hi’ and went in and placed my order.  I ordered a pot of coffee and a large chunk of date and walnut cake, substantial food!  I went back outside and joined my fellow cyclist.  He had ridden out from Warwick and was on an all day ride of around 75 to 80 miles.  My food arrived and we chatted on a bit, enjoying the heat of the sun in the old dairy yard.

After the refreshment stop I carried on around my circuit.  The return leg was just over 20 miles, having done just over 30 on the way out.  I came back via the western side of Northampton via Bugbroke, Blisworth and Roade then via Salcey Forest and into Olney

