Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I couldn’t let this glorious moment in British Cycling history go un-mentioned.  I spent about 6 hours watching this race on Sunday and it was absolutely brilliant the way the British team controlled the race..  266km, 165 mile, 5hrs 40 mins of around 30mph+ riding and about 50mph for the final sprint, up a hill !!

This is just the final few minutes of the race..  watch and learn and appreciate

No other team has ever controlled a race for so long.  Being a cyclist myself I can appreciate just how hard it is to ride like this.  Impossible for me to ride like that but I can feel the pain.  I hope you can gain some idea of whats involved here if you are a non-cyclist.

Not only Mark Cavendish but the whole team who were working for him, Bradley Wiggins, Geraint Thomas, Ian Stannard, Chris Froome, Jeremy Hunt, David Millar, Steve Cummings.  All of these guys did all the work all the race to bring Mark Cavendish to the finish straight.  He had to hang on to their coat tails for nearly six hours at full speed and then produce a world beating sprint against teams who had done no work all race except ride in the shelter of team GB.  It was an impossible task but they did it !!

