Tags

, , ,

I just realised I have been very remiss and omitted to tell you about my venture up into the ‘B’ group for the Team MK ride last Saturday.

Click For Ride Detail

I thought I would give it a try as the destination was Salcey Forest which is in my direction.  I rode over to Stony Stratford on my own with the idea of just riding home to Olney without going back to Stony Stratford again after the cafe stop.  That way I would be able to make my upgrade in easy stages.

As expected the ride was a much faster pace, around 20mph and more some of the time.  It was a much more orderly ride, two neat files of riders.  I managed to keep up OK but I was feeling it in my legs by the time we stopped as I am sure were some of the others though as I was never dropped off the back unlike some.  You will see from the stats that most segments were quite high averages apart from the first two and last two which were mostly my solo trip to and from the ride.

I did avoid the return ride with the group which by all accounts becomes very hard as the bunch splits up with the increased pace.  I expect I will encounter that this Saturday as I will be exposed to the whole ride to The Bluebell cafe at Marsworth but it’s what I need to do if I am to improve.  No pain. no gain !

