Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It was the first dry day since last Saturdays ride and quite a bit warmer too, but still not warm at all if you know what I mean?  I took myself out on what I knew would be a hard ride as I selected a hilly route.  Although its not that hilly around here it was about as many hills as I could fit in on one thirty mile plus ride., almost 33 actually.  The strong south west wind of 20mph plus also added to the toughness and there seemed to be more headwind than tailwind or was that just my imagination??

Click Map For Detailed Ride Stats

I ventured just over the county border and into Northamptonshire for the bulk of the ride.  That might sound like a long way but its not really.  Olney, my home town is right in the top right hand corner of Buckinghamshire and just a couple of miles up the road at a place called ‘Three Shires Wood’ is the border of Buckinghamshire, Northamptonshire and Bedfordshire, hence the three shires in the title.

Castle Ashby House

Castle Ashby House (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

I rode out via Castle Ashby to Cogenhoe, then across to Great Houghton and Preston Deanery to Hartwell.  From there I went to Ashton and returned home via Hanslope, Gayhurst and Ravenstone.

All in all a good workout.  It has remained pretty much a dry day apart from a very brief shower, the forecast rain didn’t materialise this afternoon.  Hopefully I will get another ride in before Saturdays Team MK ride, weather permitting.

