Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I have had exactly a week with no bike riding as of today.  I was going on the Team MK ride today but I did something to my ankle yesterday and it gave me a lot of pain in the night and I didn’t want to aggravate it more by cycling with it.  It still hurts a bit now but I will take a ride at my own pace tomorrow.

The reason for no biking was that we took the caravan down to Devon to visit family and also have a short break.  It was the first trip of the year with the caravan.  It was supposed to be a first run after winter before our annual month long visit to France which should have been on 3rd June.  This has now had to be postponed until later in the year but the inaugural trip of the year still took place.  I did originally think about taking my bike but we were away for such a short time and the schedule would only have allowed for one bike ride so I decided to leave it at home.

We had found a beautiful place to stay on the edge of Dartmoor.  It was a small farm/smallholding in a very secluded spot.  One of the Caravan Clubs certificated locations.  They are all small sites that are only allowed a maximum of five caravans.  There was only one other caravan there when we arrived and another one arrived the day before we left.  Not exactly busy, just how we like it.

Our 'pitch' right at the top of the field.

Our ‘pitch’ right at the top of the field.

In between family visits we found time on a grey morning for a trip  along the coast from Dawlish to Teignmouth and then on up onto Dartmoor, by which time the sun had come out.  We had a very enjoyable visit to the small village of Widecombe In The Moor.  We had a walk around the village and explored the church  and churchyard.

Widecombe Church

Widecombe In The Moor, Church

Widecombe Village Green

Widecombe In The Moor, Village Green

The day before I had also made a solo trip to Dartmoor to check out Haytor which the Tour of Britain cycle race will be climbing later in the year.  I must say I don’t envy them.  Its pretty steep whichever direction you approach it from.

Haytor

The top of Haytor, Dartmoor

View down from the road at Haytor

View down from the road at the top of Haytor

View in the other direction.

View down in the other direction.

You can see these photos and lots more in greater detail on my photography blog site if you care to visit.  Click the link here or the link in the sidebar.

