Tags

, , , ,

Grafham, 30th September

A solo ride round one of favourite routes.  One of the deciding factors when selecting a route for me is the wind direction for the return leg.  This was what decided me on this route.  Whilst the outgoing ride was going to be tough I always had the return leg to look forward to.  As on the last occasion I rode this route I opted out of the cafe stop by the reservoir at Perry.  I just rode straight through from Kimbolton to  Great Staughton.

Ride Details, Click Here..

Team MK ‘C’ Group, Castle Ashby, 5th October.

This was going to be a short ride for a club ride by recent standards for me.  Without the added 25 mile round trip to and from the start.  The ride itself was a short one anyway but I would be dropping off at Olney on the way back.  The projected route was also passing not far from Olney on the way out but I elected to ride over to Stony Stratford as  usual for the ride start.

It was a reasonably orderly ride for the ‘C’s and it was also the first of the 09:30am ride starts for the forthcoming winter.  The A’s and B’s still started their ride at 09:00am as they go further and this helped to reduce the congestion at Cofferidge Close.

The coffee stop was at ‘The Buttery’ at Castle Ashby.  I hadn’t originally intended stopping as it was so near to home but as it was  a short ride and we were quite early getting there, despite the later start, I decided to be sociable and stop.  One nice touch by the cafe is that whenever the club goes there they always bring out jugs of cold water and glasses before they take our orders.

Ride Details, Click Here..

Afternoon Ride, Cranfield – Cogenhoe Loop, 7th October

We had some people coming to do some work in the house in the morning so I delayed my proposed morning ride until the afternoon.  I am not so keen on afternoon rides for some reason or another, cant explain why, just doesn’t feel right somehow.  It seems OK if I start in the morning and it runs into the afternoon.

I set off and it was quite cloudy and grey so I dressed accordingly and as if it was a ride in the cool of the morning.  However within a few miles the sun came out and I was well overdressed for the occasion but I just had to sweat it out.  I should have made use of the arm and leg warmers and not the tights and long sleeve jersey, which I wore over a base layer!

It was quite an undulating route by local standards and I rode it pretty hard.  I had estimated the distance to be around 40 miles before I left but in reality it turned out to be a shade under 47 miles.

Ride Details, Click Here..

