So today I christened the workshop apron and spent the morning in the garage making some adjustments to bike set ups.  I recently had a delivery of components from Chain Reaction to facilitate this.  It was a bit warmer down there today by a degree or two plus I put a small heater on.

On the Colnago I changed the Sdi Levers to Shimano 105’s.  They are the type where all the cabling is concealed under the handlebar tape and not coming out of the side of the levers.  They are virtually new as I used the 10 speed/double levers I took off the Ribble bike when I changed that to a triple chainring soon after I purchased the bike.  While doing this I also changed the front and rear derailleurs to 105’s as well, similarly recovered from the Ribble.  I completed the change to Shimano 105 by fitting  a Shimano hollowtech type bottom bracket so that I could re-use the 105 double chainset that also came off the Ribble bike.

Colnago New Shimano 105 Sti Levers

Colnago New Shimano 105 Sti Levers

Colnago New Shimano 105 Double Chainset

Colnago New Shimano 105 Double Chainset

Colnago New Bottom Bracket

Colnago New Bottom Bracket

For the Claud Butler I had purchased some 42mm wide shallower drop handlebars as the exiting bars had too deep a drop for my comfort.  I seldom us the ‘drops’ except in conditions of extreme wind. (The meteorological kind not personal!).    I was able to do this without too much trouble as I only had to remove the bar tape, loosen the levers and slide them down and off.  I did have to fit a new stem as the new handlebars had a wider centre section and the old stem was a slim one.  It was quite a quick job compared to the Colnago as I just had slip the levers back on, position them and re-tape the handlebars.

Claud Butler New Handlebars & Stem

Claud Butler New Handlebars & Stem

I have to report that the apron still remains in almost pristine condition.  I did some of the greasier work changing the derailleurs yesterday afternoon in the brief time I was down there or it might have been a different story.

In other news I have entered two Audax events this afternoon.  The first is a short 50km  one near Saffron Walden next weekend just as a tester.  It will be my first Audax ride and I need to check out the procedures.  Also there is an end of season medal to be gained if you have ridden events in all distances from 50 km up 200km so I might as well kill two birds with one stone as there are not many 50km events in the calendar.  Plus I am bit short of mileage (Kilometerage ?) in my legs due to the current climate.  The second event is a 100km one near Reading the following weekend by which time I expect to be an old hand at this type of thing.

I will then space the events out at about one a fortnight over the summer except for holidays of course.

