Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Tuesday was such a nice day that a bike ride was irresistible.   I chose one of my favourite routes all around the outside of Bedford, giving it a fairly wide berth.

Cliclk This map For Detailed Ride Stats

Cliclk This map For Detailed Ride Stats

I knew at the outset that it was the wrong way round as I was saddling myself with a ride into a south west wind that was forecast to increase in strength later in the day.  However this is the way I prefer to do it.  It does get the 10-12% climb of London Lane just outside Houghton Conquest out of the way fairly early in the ride.

Also should I choose I could stop for a coffee at about the right time in the ride at the Shuttleworth Aircraft Collection at Old Warden.  However a coffee stop wasn’t on the agenda this morning, instead I stopped at Ickwell, about a mile away, to take this photo of the Maypole on the village green.  Not something you see very often these days..

The Maypole at Ickwell Village Green..

The Maypole at Ickwell Village Green..

I pressed on along my route which for a few miles now was across flat agricultural ground growing vegetables mainly for a couple of local vegetable processing factories.  At certain times of the year there is a strong smell of onions as you pass through this area.

My next and final stop was at the traffic lights over Great Barford bridge where it crosses the River Great Ouse that has made its way this far from Olney and beyond and heading for Kings Lynn in Norfolk.  I dismounted and wandered over to a gateway to take this picture of the bridge and meadow.

Great Barford bridge and meadow

Great Barford bridge and meadow

There was about another 10 miles in a roughly northerly direction before turning left at Bolnhurst and into the wind for the remaining part of the journey.  It was quite un eventful ride but very pleasurable all the same.  My legs seem to be feeling good despite the lack of rides recently.

There was due to be another ride today ( Thursday 12th June).  It was to be about 100km on another nice sunny day and with very little wind.  However I only got as far Grendon, about 6 miles from home when I got a puncture.  I had to use my spare inner-tube and as i didn’t want to risk getting another puncture in the remaining 90km and be tubeless, I turned back for home.  One of my first jobs was to replace thee spare tube in my bag and also put in another one.  Usually on solo rides I do take two inner-tubes for just such events but I was on the Felt bike which didn’t have the extra spare stowed away on it.  Another lesson learned.

