Yes, nine days with no bike ride.. I can’t give a specific reason why not but take your pic from weather, shopping, day trip, and a new arrival in the family.. but I think the biggest culprit was lack of motivation.  I can force myself out more if I have a target event in mind, which latterly has become Audax’s or, as in this case a looming ride leadership on November 29th for Team Milton Keynes.

Its this time of year, when the days start to get shorter and the weather colder that every year takes me a while to get used to.  Its nowhere near as inviting as a nice spring or summer day when all you need is a pair of shorts and a shirt and a bit of sun cream.

It was yesterday, Sunday that i got astride my ‘winter bike number one’, the Specialized Allez.  It was included in my recent bike transformations where it got fitted with mudguards and some lightweight lights that I might need if the weather turns dark and gloomy or even in the remote chance that it might be getting close to sunset before I am home at this time of year.

I did a variation on one of my Ouse valley rides and just extended it northwards a bit.  It was a glorious day for a ride.  The sun was shining, it wasn’t too cold, although I had full length tights on and a winter jacket.  It was bit chilly out but the wind was down to a few miles an hour, single digits instead of into the teens and more.  There were plenty of others out of a like mind.  Although I guess a lot of them have to go to work all week so they are bit more driven as they only have weekends to ride.  Unlike us pensioners who don’t know how lucky we are.  However I should remind you that I did over 50 years of working with no breaks before I earned the right.

Screen Shot 2014-11-10 at 14.41.01

As usual, once I was out snd riding I wondered what had been the problem that stopped me going before.  Hopefully I will remain suitably driven through the winter now.

