Tags

, ,

I finally got out on the bike again this week. It wasn’t any more inviting this morning than it has been any other day this week but at least no rain was forecast for the duration of my proposed ride around my longer (50km) Ouse Valley route.  My chosen steed for the day was Ribble.

The wind was forecast to be up to 30mph gusts from the south east. My route goes pretty much east and west, with a bit of a tilt on it, so it would be a mainly cross wind for the ride.  I headed out East through Lavendon and Harrold to cross the river at the bridge in Felmersham, as far east as I would go on the ride.  This photo is taken immediately after the bridge as I start to head uphill from the river and west.

Felmersham

Felmersham

As you can see its looking a bit wintery now, fallen leaves by the side of the road, not a lot of sunshine or colour around.  I came back via Carlton,Turvey and Newton Blossomville.  I passed just south of Olney and home as I approached Emberton to start on the westerly leg of the ride.

Click on the image for ride details..

Click on the image for ride details..

I turned south on the A509 for about half a mile before heading west again to Filgrave and Tyringham.   I have to say I didn’t see many other cyclists out and about today, I think the count was about three.  Understandably so I suppose given the weather.

At Tyringham I turned right onto the Newport Pagnell – Northampton road to Stoke Goldington.  Here I made a turn to head west and home.  Here is a picture just after I turned onto the little lane that goes to Ravenstone, Olney and home.

Stoke Goldington

Stoke Goldington

As you can see the weather hasn’t got any brighter since the previous picture, just a very miserable looking day all round I guess.  As I type this in the afternoon it is just starting to rain and I am not surprised.  At least I got my ride in and  another thirty miles into my legs and my conscience eased !!

