Tags

, , , , , , ,

This morning I walked down to the recreation grounds to watch two of my Grandsons, Joe and Will at rugby training, however when I got there it transpired that Joe(13) was playing in a match at 11am.  It was the teams first match of the year and first year they are allowed to play in league due to the rugby authorities restrictions concerning what can be done as they progress through the age groups.

While waiting for the match to start I went down to watch Will(10) and his group who were just undergoing  their regular training. They were among the multitude of other age groups that show up every Sunday of all ages from around the age of six I think up until their mid teens including girls.  This picture shows just one field of activities and it doesn’t look so many here because they are all using the full size pitches.  There are a further two fields of the same size as this that are also full up with much smaller pitches marked with cones.

Wills Training Group

Wills Training Group

Wills Training Group

Wills Training Group

It really is an encouraging site for me to see the amount of sport that goes on in Olney, especially for the youngsters.  Rugby, Football, Tennis and Cricket also take place down there for all age groups.  On a Saturday morning the other two fields are just as full with the young footballers training, also including girls.

IMG_2801-2

Getting back to Joe’s match, I really enjoyed watching him play, though I say it myself he really is a talented player.  He has been picked out both by the club and his school as such and has special advanced training.  Olney won the match by around 45 – 24 points I think, I was keeping count at the time but I should have written it down.  Joe made three telling passes in the first half into the corners from his position at full back that led to three tries being scored by their speedy wingers.  He managed to convert the first try from right over on the sideline.  He missed a couple of conversions from the other side but the wind wasn’t favourable for goal kicking in that direction, it is quite a long kick for a youngster.  He was rested at the start of the second half to allow other lads to have a try out but returned later to consolidate their position in the game.

Joe heading my way

Joe heading my way

Joe preparing a conversion attempt

Preparing a conversion attempt

Attempt in progress but failed on this occasion

Attempt in progress but failed on this occasion

On my return from the rugby, a little later than I had expected to be I sat in the conservatory having a coffee looking out at the garden.  In the sunshine that had now emerged I noticed how cheerful some of the flowers were looking so I nipped out with my iPhone and took a few pictures.

 

